usability seo

SEO without usability – contracted labor of love

9. April 2008 – 02:18

Recently I had to buy certain items. No problem, I thought, I find a distribution network in.

The industry has many competitors and the relative, which I found on Google, have of course been some SEO techniques used, to go to the first page of search results.

The page titles had the same keyword phrases I was looking for and the home she repeated many times. In addition, also contained links to the specified Keywörter. SEO works well and – here I was – one willing to buy individual with willingness to buy, had found the their pages using a search engine.

And yet I left after a short time the site (and also nine similar) annoyed. In fact, I was so angry, I gave the matter my friend, which ordered based on a list.

The SEO techniques were partially ripe textbook. They were perfect for search engines, but not designed for people. Their goal was, to be on the first page of search engine (Search Engine Results Pages = SERPs) and this goal was achieved. Unfortunately, the wrong target. The site should aim, only the customers and then traffic and not vice versa.

So no use SEO. I was ready to place an order, So what stopped me? Here a just a few examples of defects:

  • No prices on the sides. I should ask for pricing or to put something in my shopping cart, before the price was shown.
  • Incomplete or minimal descriptions. The name of the product has been repeated several times, but essential things like sizes, Shipping weights and colors available were not included.
  • No pictures or very bad pictures.
  • Inkonsequente Navigation. On one side I had filled my shopping cart, and when you change the delivery address once again everything was deleted. Incomprehensible!
  • Unusable or unsafe Baskets Order Processing.
  • Poor organization of the products. I was not able, To find similar products or accessories.

This means, These companies have time and money (VA. in advertisements like Google Adwords,…) see(sch)applies to their webpage “optimize”. This certainly also brings traffic, However, it is questionable whether this SEO is not exactly the opposite effect has. Namely, many unhappy customers, are no longer return to their homepage.

The conversion rate (Measuring the conversion, Konvertierungsrate, Conversion Rate (CR), Prospect-Conversion-Rate (PCR)) indicates the part of prospective, a particular site you visited and become buyers. For these companies, she is so very bad.

The conversion rate is calculated as follows: Conversion rate = purchases(r) / Visitors.

Based on the conversion rate of success / Effectiveness of a marketing or advertising. Advertising campaign calculated. Normal are values between. 1% and 5%. So that means, of 100 New visitors won a Internet Services, Now therefore 1 to 5 Customers. These words by converting visitors to buyers / Customers.

Only spend money for SEO optimization is not so useful, because sometimes including the conversion rate suffers severely.

Usability reports are a relatively cheap investment, through increased sales, Subskriptionen, Statements etc. pay for itself quickly. SEO and improving Nutzfreundlichkeit can together produce drastic changes in the traffic and conversion rates.

Search engine optimization is still in its infancy and is a constantly changing discipline. Since the search engines are getting better and better, will increase in future usability an even greater significance for the search engines. Google has already announced several times explicitly.

Usability stands for higher conversion rates and for happy and satisfied customers.

Be Sociable, Share!

    These articles might well be:

    Artikel drucken Print

    Post a Comment

usability seo

SEO ohne Usability – vergebene Liebesmühe

9. April 2008 – 02:18

Vor kurzem mußte ich bestimmte Artikel kaufen. Kein Problem, dachte ich, ich finde einen Vertrieb im Netz.

Die Branche hat relativ viele Mitbewerber und die, welche ich bei Google fand, haben natürlich schon einige SEO Techniken eingesetzt, um auf die erste Seite der Suchergebnisse zu gelangen.

Die Seitentitel hatten die gleichen Schlüsselwortphrasen nach denen ich suchte und die Startseite wiederholte sie viele Male. Außerdem enthielten auch die angegebenen Links die Keywörter. SEO funktioniert gut und – hier war ich – einen kaufwilliger Kunde mit Kaufbereitschaft, der ihre Seiten anhand einer Search Engine gefunden hatte.

Und doch verließ ich schon nach kurzer Zeit die Website (und auch neun ähnliche) genervt. Tatsächlich war ich so verärgert, dass ich die Angelegenheit meiner Freundin übergab, welche anhand eines Katalogs bestellte.

Die SEO Techniken waren teilweise lehrbuchreif. Sie waren perfekt für Search Engines, aber nicht für Menschen konzipiert. Deren Ziel war es, auf der ersten Seite der Suchmaschine zu stehen (Search Engine Results Pages = SERPs) und dieses Ziel wurde auch erreicht. Leider war das Ziel falsch. Die Seite sollte das Ziel verfolgen, erst die Kunden und dann Traffic und nicht umgekehrt.

Also SEO ohne Nutzen. Ich war ja bereit einen Auftrag zu erteilen, also was hielt mich davon ab? Hier ein nur ein paar Mängelbeispiele:

  • Keine Preise auf den Seiten. Ich sollte die Preiskalkulation verlangen oder etwas in meinen Warenkorb legen, bevor der Preis gezeigt wurde.
  • Unvollständige oder minimale Beschreibungen. Der Name des Produktes wurde zwar mehrfach wiederholt, aber wesentliche Dinge wie Größen, Versandgewichte und vorhandene Farben waren nicht enthalten.
  • Keine Abbildungen oder sehr schlechte Abbildungen.
  • Inkonsequente Navigation. Auf einer Seite hatte ich mich meinen Warenkorb gefüllt, und beim Verändern der Lieferadresse war wieder alles gelöscht. Unfassbar!
  • Unbrauchbare Warenkörbe oder unsichere Auftragsabwicklung.
  • Schlechte Organisation der Produkte. Ich war nicht imstande, ähnliche Produkte oder Zubehör zu finden.

Das heißt, diese Firmen haben Zeit und Geld (v.a. bei Anzeigenschaltungen wie Google Adwords,…) ver(sch)wendet um ihre Homepage zu „optimieren“. Dieses bringt gewiss auch Traffic, allerdings ist es fraglich ob hier SEO nicht genau das Gegenteil bewirkt hat. Nämlich viele unzufriedene Kunden, die nicht mehr auf deren Homepage zurückkommen.

Die Konversionrate (Messung der Konversion, Konvertierungsrate, Conversion Rate (CR), Prospect-Conversion-Rate (PCR)) gibt den Teil der Kaufinteressenten an, die eine bestimmte Webseite besucht haben und zu Käufern werden. Bei diesen Firmen ist sie also denkbar schlecht.

Die Konversionsrate errechnet man wie folgt: Konversionsrate = Käufe(r) / Besucher.

Anhand der Conversionrate wird der Erfolg / Werbewirksamkeit einer Marketing bzw. Werbemaßnahme berechnet. Normal sind Werte zw. 1% und 5%. Das heißt also, von 100 neu gewonnen Besuchern eines Internetshops, kaufen dementsprechend 1 bis 5 Kunden. Diese konvertieren also vom Besucher zum Käufer / Kunden.

Nur Geld für SEO Optimierung auszugeben ist also nicht sinnvoll, da darunter manchmal die Konversionrate stark leidet.

Usabilityreports sind eine verhältnismäßig billige Investition, die durch erhöhte Verkäufe, Subskriptionen, Abschlüsse usw. sich schnell bezahlt machen. SEO und Verbesserung der Nutzfreundlichkeit können zusammen drastische Änderungen im Traffic und in den Konversionraten ergeben.

Search Engineoptimierung steckt noch in den Kinderschuhen und ist eine ständig ändernde Disziplin. Da die Search Engines besser und besser werden, wird in Zukunft Usability eine noch viel größere Bedeutung auch für die Suchmaschinen gewinnen. Das hat bereits Google mehrfach explizit mitgeteilt.

Usability steht also für höhere Conversionrates und für glückliche und zufriedene Kunden.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Diese Artikel interessieren Sie vielleicht auch:

    Artikel drucken Artikel drucken

    Post a Comment